Click on the icon to download the programme for the meeting in pdf format.

Monday 23rd August 2010 

16:00  Registration    
20:30  Welcome reception  

Tuesday 24th August 2010 

Session 1 Chair:  

09:00 - 09:15   Opening remarks  
09:15 - 09:55   Control of chemical synthesis by electron impact ionization   Petra Swiderek
(Universitat Bremen, Germany)  
09:55 - 10:20   Selective fragmentation of bifunctional organic compounds induced by low energy electrons   Anne Lafosse
(Universite Paris-Sud, France)  
10:20 - 10:45   Electron induced chemistry in ice mantles - applications to astrochemistry and lithography   Nigel Mason
(The Open University, United Kingdom)  
10:45 - 11:20   Coffee break  
Session 2 Chair:  

11:20 - 11:45   Halo-uracils negative ions formation in atom-molecule collisions   Paulo Limao-Vieira
(Universidade Nova de Lisboa, Portugal)  
11:45 - 12:10   In vitro labelling of SSBs in plasmid DNA   Malgorzata Smialek-Telega
(Gdansk University of Technology, Poland)  
12:10 - 12:35   Control of 2D nanostructures formed by self-assembly of guanine derivatives   Ilko Bald
(Aarhus University, Denmark)  
12:35 - 14:00   Lunch Break  
Session 3 Chair:  

14:00 - 14:40   Dissociation cross sections for electron scattering on CF4  Grzegorz Karwasz
(N. Copernicus University, Poland)  
14:40 - 15:05   Electron transport through molecular junctions with anharmonic vibrations   Martin Cizek
(Charles University in Prague, Czech Republic)  
15:05 - 15:30   Charge transfer processes at metal/organic interfaces   Isabel Fernandez-Torrente
(Freie Universitat Berlin, Berlin)  
15:30 - 15:50   HF, the ATP of DEA   Benedikt Ómarsson
(University of Iceland, Iceland)  
15:50 - 16:20   Coffee break  
Session 4  

16:20 - 17:20   Tutorial: Helium nanodroplets: techniques, applications and opportunities   Andrew Ellis
16:20 - 17:20   MC Meeting  
18:00 - 19:30   Dinner  
20:00 - 21:30   Poster Session  

Wednesday 25th August 2010 

Session 5 Chair:  

09:00 - 09:40   Bond-selective molecular manipulation via thermally activated electron attachment   Richard Palmer
(University of Birmingham, UK)  
09:40 - 10:05   First-principles modelling of scanning tunnelling microscopy using non-equilibrium Green's functions  Haiping Lin
(University of Liverpool, UK)  
10:05 - 10:30   Preparing and influencing a thermally driven molecular bi-stable switch by STM atomic manipulation   Sumet Sakulsermsuk
(University of Birmingham, UK)  
10:30 - 10:50   Spatial-temporal evolution of STM - triggered reaction fronts   Michaela Hager
(University of Innsbruck, Austria)  
10:50 - 11:20   Coffee break  
Session 6 Chair:  

11:20 - 11:45   Electron-driven molecular switching at surfaces  Peter Saalfrank
(University of Potsdam, Germany)  
11:45 - 12:10   Switching with Molecules at Surfaces   Thomas Jung
(Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland)  
12:10 - 12:35   Selective molecule depletion as concept to control the Cobalt:Carbon ratio in planar electron-impact deposits obtained from Co2(CO)8 in high-vacuum conditions   Ivo Utke
(Empa - Materials Science & Technology, Switzerland)  
12:35 - 12:55   Photoisomerization of a azobenzene derivative in direct contact with Cu(111)   Maciej Bazarnik
(Poznan University of Technology, Poland)  
12:55 - 13:15   Low energy electron interactions with nitro derivatives of benzene   Jolanta Wnorowska
(University of Podlasie, Poland)  
13:15 - 14:30   Lunch Break  
15:00  Conference Excursion  
19:00  Dinner  

Thursday 26th August 2010 

Session 7 Chair:  

09:00 - 09:40   Fabrication and Imaging of Chemical Nanostructures with Electron and Helium Ion Beams   Armin Gölzhäuser
(University of Bielefeld, Germany)  
09:40 - 10:05   Ultrafast molecular reaction dynamics at metal clusters on magnesium oxide   Thorsten Bernhardt
(University of Ulm, Germany)  
10:05 - 10:30   Photon and low energy electron physics with complex nano- and pico-sized systems   Bratislav Marinkovic
(University of Belgrade, Serbia)  
10:30 - 10:55   DEA to derivatives of silane   Stefan Matejcik
(Comenius University, Slovakia)  
10:55 - 11:30   Coffee break  
Session 8 Chair:  

11:30 - 11:55   Nanografting with functionalized alkanethiols: Friction and stacking   Sylwia Speller
(Radboud U Nijmegen / IMM, NL)  
11:55 - 12:20   Field Emission Resonances on periodically rippled graphene   Amadeo Vazquez de Parga
(Univerisdad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain)  
12:20 - 12:40   Metal atoms, clusters, and monolayers on graphite (0001): Density functional simulations and STM measurements  Jaakko Akola
(University of Jyväskylä, Finland)  
12:40 - 13:00   VUV photoabsorption study of TiO2 thin films deposited by DC reactive magnetron sputtering   Susana Serio
(FCT/UNL, Portugal)  
13:00 - 14:30   Lunch Break  
Session 9 Chair:  

14:30 - 15:00   Industrial applications of electron beam induced chemistry   Klaus Edinger
(Carl Zeiss-NaWoTec, Germany)  
15:00 - 15:25   Ultracold ion and electron beams for ECCL   Daniel Comparat
(CNRS, France)  
15:25 - 15:50   Ion formation in doped helium droplets   Harald Schöbel
(University of Innsbruck, Austria)  
15:50 - 16:20   Coffee break  
Session 10 Chair:  

16:20 - 16:45   Advanced Modelling of He Droplets   Andreas Mauracher
(Uppsala University, Sweden)  
16:45 - 17:10   EBID-growth on ultra-thin foils: experiments and simulations   Cornelis W. Hagen
(Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)  
17:10 - 17:30   Tracking down EBID broadening - Interaction of low energy electrons and cobalt tricarbonyl nitrosyl   Sarah Engmann
(University of Iceland, Iceland)  
  Final remarks  
19:30  Conference Dinner  

Friday 27th August 2010

09:00  Departure  

List of Speakers

Name Affiliation  
Jaakko Akola University of Jyväskylä, FI  
Ilko Bald Aarhus University, DK  
Maciej Bazarnik University of Poznan, PL  
Thorsten Bernhardt University of Ulm, DE,  
Martin Cizek Charles University Prague, CZ  
Daniel Comparat Universite Paris-Sud, Orsay, FR  
Sarah Engmann University of Iceland, IS,  
Armin Gölzhäuser Universität Bielefeld, DE  
Cornelis Hagen Delft University of Technology, NL  
Michaela Hager Universität Innsbruck, AT  
Klaus Edinger Carl Zeiss SMT.  
Thomas A. Jung Laboratory for Micro- and Nanotechnology Paul Scherrer Institute  
Grzegorz Karwasz N. Copernicus University, PL  
Anne Lafosse CNRS-Université Paris-Sud, FR  
Paulo Limao-Vieira New University of Lisbon, PT  
Haiping Lin University of Liverpool, UK  
Bratislav Marinkovic Insitute of Physics, Belgrade, RS  
Nigel Mason The Open University, UK  
Andreas Mauracher Uppsala University, SE  
Pawel Mozejko Technical University of Gdansk, PL  
Benedikt Ómarsson University of Iceland, IS  
Richard Palmer University of Birmingham, UK  
Peter Saalfrank Universität Potsdam, DE  
Sumet Sakulsermsuk University of Birmingham, UK  
Paul Scheier Universität Innsbruck, AT  
Harald Schöbel Universität Innsbruck, AT  
Susana Sério Universidade Nova de Lisboa, PT  
Malgorzata Smialek-Telega Gdansk University of Technology  
Sylvia Speller Radboud U Nijmegen / IMM  
Petra Swiderek University of Bremen, DE .  
Isabel Fernandez Torrente FU Berlin, DE  
Ivo Utke Empa, Materials Testing and Research, CH  
Amadeo Vázquez de Parga Univ. Autonoma de Madrid, ES  
Harold Zandvliet MESA+University, NL  

Social Programme

There will be 2 excursions arranged for accompanying persons. Further details to follow.

Tuesday 24th August 2010: Trip to Warsaw.

Thursday 26th August 2010: Trip to Siedlce.