WG2: Chemical control by electron-induced molecular fragmentation


Reactive fragments produced under exposure to low-energy electrons control reactions in mixed clusters and molecular films. This can be exploited for the modification of molecular films or surfaces and for the attachment of functional groups to surfaces of materials such as semiconductors or molecular self-assembled monolayers. The action explores the potential of these reactions for ECCL. Experiments are complemented by theoretical models to describe the structure of the molecule/surface junction from an atomistic point of view and to predict the energetically most favorable reactions for a given system. Furthermore, the calculation of the energy landscape and the evaluation of adsorption bond strengths of single molecules on surfaces, or the modification of bond strengths within such adsorbed molecules, may provide a profound insight into fundamental mechanisms of single molecule manipulation on surfaces. More specifically, working group 2 of the action will focus on:

  1. Studying secondary reactions of fragments produced upon interaction with low energy electron beams by identifying the products of such reactions in clusters, mixed molecular films and on surfaces.
  2. Exploring the effect of the morphology of a surface and temperature on the reactions.
  3. Exploring methods that can activate surfaces for electron induced linking of surface adsorbates.
  4. Optimisation of the potential of these reactions for ECCL.


Electron-induced reactions, molecular films, clusters, surfaces, adsorbates, reaction mechanisms

List of WG2 participants

  Name Insitute Country Email
1 Isabella Baccarelli CASPUR Supercomputing Consortium Italy
2 Martin Cizek Charles university Czech Republic
3 Inmaculada Colera Universidad Carlos III de Madrid Spain
4 David Field University of Aarhus Denmark
5 Armin Gölzhäuser Universität Bielefeld Germany
6 Anne Lafosse Université Paris-Sud France
7 Paulo Limao-Vieira New University of Lisbon Portugal
8 Nigel Mason The Open University United Kingdom
9 Aleksandar Milosavljevic The Institute of Physics, Belgrade Serbia
10 Pawel Mozejko Technical University of Gdansk Poland
11 Richard Palmer University of Birmingham United Kingdom
12 Paulo Ribeiro New University of Lisbon Portugal
13 Peter Saalfrank Universität Potsdam Germany
14 Paul Scheier Leopold-Franzens Universität Innsbruck Austria
15 Petra Swiderek Universität Bremen Germany
16 Dominique Teillet-Billy Université de Paris-Sud France



Last updated: 4th December 2007