Click on the icon to download the programme for the meeting in pdf format.

Click on the icon to download the complete book of abstracts from the meeting in pdf format.

Wednesday 12th March





Arrival. Hotel registration.





Thursday 13th March 2008




  Session 1  
8:50-9:00 Welcome: The meeting will be opened by the Dean of the Faculty of Science & Technology of the New University of Lisbon Prof. Fernando Santana  
9:00-9:40 Electron Controlled Reactions in Gas Phase and Condensed Phase Molecules Eugen Illenberger
(Freie Universtitaet Berlin, Germany)
9:40-10:00 Theory of inelastic electron-molecule collisions. From gas phase to molecules on surfaces Martin Cķ˛ek
(Charles University Prague, Czech Republic)
10:00-10:20 Surface Dynamics study during the manipulation of single molecules on Si(100)-(2x1) at 5K Damien Riedel
(Centre Universitaire de Paris Sud, France)
10:30-11:00 Coffee break
11:00-11:20 Cold electron collisions with solids David Field
(University of Aarhus, Denmark)
11:20-11:40 Molecular nanostructures on surfaces formed by organic reactions Trolle Linderoth
(University of Aarhus, Denmark)
11:40-12:00 Selective bond cleavage by low energy electron impact on gas phase nucleobases derivatives Robert Abouaf
(Université Paris Sud Centre d'Orsay, France)
12:00-12:20 Investigation of low-energy electron irradiation-induced changes in organic materials by thermal desorption spectroscopy Elisabeta Burean
(Universität Bremen, Germany)
12:30-14:00 Lunch




  Session 2  
14:00-14:40 First-Principles Simulation of Mechanically Induced Chemistry Irmgard Frank
(Universität Hannover, Germany)
14:40-15:00 Modelling resonant fragmentation in biosystems upon electron attachment Isabella Baccarelli
(Supercomputing Center CASPUR, Italy)
15:00-15:20 Guiding of low-energy electrons through insulating nanocapillaries Aleksandar Milosavljevic
(Institute of Physics Belgrade, Serbia)
15:20-15:40 Using electrons to template a dielectric substrate Geoff Thornton
(University College London, UK)
15:45-16:15 Coffee break
16:15-16:35 Design of an instrument to identify suitable molecules for ECCL – work in progress Elias Bjarnason
(University of Iceland, Iceland)
16:35-16:55 Thermally Programmed Desorption experiments at very low temperature (10-30K). Desorption and formation of molecular hydrogen on heterogeneous water ice surfaces of different porosity
Lionel Amiaud
(Université Paris-Sud/ Orsay, France)
18:00- Welcome reception and poster session  




Friday 14th March 2008




  Session 3  
8:30-9:10 Magnetic nanostructures probed on the atomic scale Cyrus Hirjibehedin
(London Centre for Nanotechnology, UK)
9:10-9:30 Electron Induced Molecular Reorganization and Switching at Metal Surfaces Martin Wolf
(Freie Universitaet Berlin, Gemany)
9:30-9:50 Laser-Induced Acoustic Desorption Combined With Electron-Attachment Spectroscopy and Quantum Chemical Methodologies as a Means of Studying DNA Strand Breaks
Iwona Dabkowska
(University of Gdansk, Poland)
9:50-10:10 Coffee break
10:10-10:50 On the behaviour of electron attachment cross sections near zero energy Harmut Hotop
(Technical University Kaiserslautern, Germany)
10:50-11:10 Effective cross sections for low-energy electron scattering from monomolecular films of condensed thymidine Radmila Panajotovic
(The Open University, UK)
11:10-11:30 Optical emission spectroscopy of reactive magnetron discharges. Andre Wemans
(Faculdade Ciencias e Tecnologia/UNL, Portugal)
11:30-12:00 Electronic excitation, single and double ionization of molecules of biological interest using fast electrons and synchrotron radiation Gerardo de Souza
(Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
12:00-12:30 Applications of focused electron beam induced chemical reactions Klaus Edinger
(Carl Zeiss - NaWoTec, Germany)
12:30-14:30 Lunch
14:30- Excursion to Queluz National Palace and the conference dinner.
The conference dinner will also be attended by the Dean of the Faculty of Science and Technology, Prof. Fernando Santana and the Head of the Scientific Council, Prof. Joao Crespo




Saturday 15th March 2008




  Session 4  
9:00-9:40 Patterning of surfaces at the 10nm scale and below Richard Palmer
(University of Birmingham, UK)
9:40-10:00 Vibrational excitation of methane by slow electrons revisited: Joint theoretical and experimental study Roman Curķk
(J Hyerovsky Institute of Physical Chemistry, Czech Republic)
10:00-10:40 Scanning Tunneling Microscopy of Adsorbates on Insulating Films: From Manipulation of the Charge State to Imaging of Individual Molecular Orbitals and Bond Formation Gerhard Meyer
(IBM Zurich Research Laboratory, Switzerland)
10:40-11:00 Coffee break
11:00-11:20 Current-Induced Conductance Switching of Individual Molecules Jascha Repp
(University of Regensburg, Germany)
11:20-11:40 Atomic Force Microscopy Characterization of Polyelectrolytes Self-Assembly Films Using Dynamic Scaling Concepts Quirina Ferreira
(FCT - UNL, Portugal)
11:40-12:00 Inelastic interactions of electrons with molecules and clusters embedded in superfluid helium droplets Paul Scheier
(Universität Innsbruck, Austria)
12:00-12:20 Absolute electron – molecule cross sections: elastic, vibrational and electronic excitation, and dissociative attachment Michael Allan
(University of Fribourg, Switzerland)
12:30-14:00 Lunch  




  Session 5  
14:00-14:40 The hunt for single atom deposition Cornelis W. Hagen
(Delft University of Technology, Netherlands)
14:40-15:00 STM-driven molecular switches at surfaces: From structure to dynamics Peter Saalfrank
(Universität Potsdam, Germany)
15:00-15:20 Jahn-Teller effect in C60 molecules studied with the Scanning Tunneling Microscope Nicolais Lorente
(CISC, Spain)
15:20-15:50 Direct quantitative measurement of lateral forces at atomic scale using non-contact Atomic Force Microscopy (nc-AFM)
Ahmet Oral
(Sabanci University, Turkey)
15:50-16:15 Coffee break
16:15-17:30 General discussion: further input on the "Action Statement"  
17:30-18:00 Final remarks  
18:00- Steering committee group meeting  




Sunday 16th March 2008





Participants depart